SHIPS AND SMALL BOATS

CORIOLIS II

CONTACT

     FUNCTION

PHONE

  François Leblanc  Executive director of REFORMAR 418 724 2822 #2155
The Coriolis II, a very versatile vessel equipped with state-of-the-art technology, is dedicated to teaching and research in ice-free marine waters. She can be used as a working and service vessel, or for activities of location and marking, or in the fight against pollution. The ship and its scientific equipment belong to a consortium formed of Université Laval, UQAR, UQAM and McGill University and the two of them are managed by REFORMAR.
 
   
NGCC AMUNDSEN

CONTACT

           FUNCTION

PHONE

  Keith Levesque Ship-based research coordinator   418 656 2131 #3071
  Luc Michaud Scientific equipment manager   418 656 2131 #5282

The NGCC Amundsen is a research icebreaker with a world-class facility, built to study the changing Arctic Ocean. Overhauled and fitted with sophisticated research equipment and infrastructure, speciallyadapted to extremely cold climate, she can be used for ice monitoring, physics and chemistry of marine waters, optics, bathymetry, geology, biology, ocean-atmospheric exchanges, etc. The maintenance and management of the research icebreaker are left with the Canadian Coast Guard, which, in exchange, uses the ship for its operations during the winter months. The scientific equipment aboard the Amundsen is managed separately from the ship by a special committee.
 
BORÉALIS

CONTACT

      FUNCTION

PHONE

  Pascal Sirois Professor-researcher, ship manager 418 545 5011 #5658

The Boréalis was built specifically for sampling. More than 8 meters long, it is made with an aluminium hull. The Boréalis is equipped with scientific equipment such as an experimental trawl net and a CTD. The ship, certified for “minor waters voyage, class 1” by Transport Canada, is authorized to navigate in the Gulf of St-Lawrence.
 
 
MORDAX

CONTACT

      FUNCTION

PHONE

  Sylvain Blondeau     Equipment manager 418 656 2131 #11447

The Mordax is a Boston Whaler, Guardian model, 20’ long (6 m). As it is constructed in fibreglass with full foam floatation, she is unsinkable. Dedicated to sampling in coastal marine waters, she is also very useful in shallow waters. Québec-Océan is responsible for her maintenance and management. Stored in the Quebec warehouse, she can rapidly be moved to the sampling area with a trailer.

NAVIRES ET EMBARCATIONS

CORIOLIS II

PERSONNE RESSOURCE

FONCTION

TÉLÉPHONE

  François Leblanc  Directeur général de REFORMAR 418 724 2822 #2155
Le Coriolis II, navire polyvalent et équipé à la fine pointe de la technologie, est dédié à l’enseignement et à la recherche en milieu marin libre de glace. Il peut être utilisé comme navire océanographique ou pour le repérage et le balisage ou encore dans la lutte contre la pollution. Le navire et ses équipements scientifiques appartiennent au Consortium formé de l’U. Laval, l’UQAR, l’UQAM et l’U. McGill et sont gérés par REFORMAR.
 
   
NGCC AMUNDSEN

PERSONNE RESSOURCE

FONCTION

TÉLÉPHONE

  Alexandre Forest Coordonnateur aux opérations en mer   418 656 2131 #3071
  Luc Michaud Responsable des équipements scientifiques   418 656 2131 #5282
Le NGCC Amundsen est un brise-glace de recherche de classe internationale destiné à étudier l’effet des changements climatiques dans l’Arctique. Pourvu d’équipements océanographiques sophistiqués et adaptés au climat extrêmement froid, il peut être utilisé pour le suivi des glaces, la physique et la chimie des eaux, l’optique, la bathymétrie, la géologie, la biologie, les échanges atmosphère-océan... Le brise-glace est maintenu et géré par la Garde Côtière canadienne qui peut l’utiliser en échange pour ses opérations de déglaçage pendant l’hiver. Les équipements scientifiques de l'Amundsen sont gérés à part du navire par un comité spécial.
 
 
BORÉALIS

PERSONNE RESSOURCE

FONCTION

TÉLÉPHONE

  Pascal Sirois Professeur, responsable du navire 418 545 5011 #5658

Le Boréalis a été construit sur mesure pour réaliser des échantillonnages. D'une longueur de plus de 8 mètres, il est muni d'une coque en aluminium. Le Boréalis dispose de plusieurs équipements scientifiques tel qu’un chalut expérimental et un CTD. Le bâtiment, certifié de type «eaux secondaires 1» par Transports Canada, est autorisé à naviguer dans le golfe Saint-Laurent.
 
 
MORDAX

PERSONNE RESSOURCE

FONCTION

TÉLÉPHONE

  Sylvain Blondeau     Responsable des équipements     418 656 2131 # 11447

Le Mordax est un Boston Whaler, modèle Guardian, de 20 pieds de long (6 m). Ce bateau en fibre de verre entièrement doublé de flotteurs est insubmersible. Destiné aux échantillonnages côtiers, il est particulièrement indiqué pour les milieux peu profonds. Le Boston-Whaler est géré et maintenu par Québec-Océan. Il est entreposé à Québec et une remorque permet de le déplacer rapidement sur le lieu d’échantillonnage.