ARCTIC SOLAS (Arctic Surface Lower Atmosphere Study)

Surface temperatures are rising at a rate unprecedented in recorded human history and the patterns of this fast change strongly point to increased anthropogenic emissions of several greenhouse gases. The Arctic is particularly sensitive to this warming. The Canadian Arctic is changing with important reduction of the extent, thickness, and age of sea ice and an increased eastward flow of Pacific waters through the Canadian Archipelago. The influence of these major alterations of the Arctic on sea-air and ice-air flux of climate-active gases and aerosols, and on atmospheric chemistry and radiative properties is largely unknown. The Arctic is important in the production and cycling of climate-active gases, including CO2, carbon monoxide (CO), nitrous oxide (N2O), volatile organic compounds (VOCs), halocarbons, and dimethylsulfide (DMS).

It is the goal of Arctic SOLAS, which is a SOLAS Canada project, to provide critical knowledge on the interactions between sea ice, circulation and emissions of gases and particles in the Arctic and to help reduce uncertainties as to these climate processes. We will seek answers to these key questions:

  1. How will the increased outflow of Pacific waters through the Canadian Archipelago affect the production and emission of climatically active gases?

  2. How do ice properties influence the production and ice-atmosphere exchanges of climatically active trace gases?
     
  3. How do these alterations in ocean-ice-atmosphere exchanges influence the chemical and radiative properties of the Arctic atmosphere?
    These questions will be addressed during the International Polar Year (IPY) 2007-2008.

A mission was carried out in fall 2007 in the Baffin Bay and the Lancaster Sound onboard the Canadian research icebreaker Amundsen. A second mission will be held in fall 2008 in the Beaufort Sea, onboard the same ship.
 

Members of Québec-Océan involved in the project

Professors and researchers
Maurice Levasseur (U. Laval)
Michel Gosselin (UQAR/ISMER)
Michael Scarratt (Institut Maurice-Lamontagne)
Jean-Éric Tremblay (U. Laval)
Yves Gratton (INRS-ETE)

MSc students
Myriam Luce (U. Laval)
Jessie Motard-Côté (U. Laval)
Cynthia Gagné (U. Laval)
Marjolaine Blais (U. Laval)
Mariane Berrouard (U. Laval)
Kevin Randall (U. Laval)
 

Québec-Océan is a strategic cluster funded by FRQNT.

ARCTIC SOLAS (Arctic Surface Lower Atmosphere Study)

L'augmentation actuelle des températures océaniques de surface se fait à un rythme sans précédent dans l'histoire humaine et ces changements rapides sont très certainement imputables à l'augmentation des émissions anthropiques de plusieurs gaz à effet de serre. L'Arctique est particulièrement sensible au réchauffement. Dans l'Arctique canadien, l'étendue, l'épaisseur et l'âge de la banquise sont en rapide régression tandis que l'apport d'eau d'origine Pacifique augmente à travers l'archipel canadien. L'influence de ces modifications sur les échanges air-mer et air-glace des gaz et des aérosols qui participent à la régulation du climat, et l'impact résultant sur les propriétés chimiques et radiatives de l'atmosphère sont largement méconnus. L'Arctique est une région importante pour la production et le cycle de gaz climatiquement influents, comme le CO2, le monoxyde de carbone (CO), l'oxyde nitreux (N2O), les composés organiques volatiles (VOCs), les halocarbones et le dimethylsulfure (DMS).

Arctic SOLAS (Surface Ocean Lower Atmosphere Study) est un projet SOLAS Canada dont l'objectif est d'apporter une connaissance essentielle sur les interactions entre la glace de mer, la circulation océanique et les émissions de gaz et de particules en Arctique et de réduire ainsi les incertitudes concernant ces processus climatiques. Nous chercherons à répondre aux questions clés suivantes:

  1. Comment l'augmentation de l'apport d'eau Pacifique à travers l'archipel canadien affecte-t-elle la production et l'émission des gaz?
     
  2. Comment les propriétés de la glace influent-elles sur les émissions de ces gaz?
     
  3. Comment ces changements dans les échanges océan-glace-atmosphère se répercutent-elles sur les propriétés chimiques et radiatives de l'atmosphère arctique?

Ces questions sont étudiées dans le cadre de l'année polaire internationale (API). La première mission a été conduite à l’automne 2007 dans la baie de Baffin et le détroit de Lancaster à bord du brise-glace canadien de recherches Amundsen. La deuxième mission a eu lieu à l’automne 2008 en mer de Beaufort sur le même navire. Les résultats sont en cours de publication.
 

Membres de Québec-Océan participant au projet

Professeurs et chercheurs
Maurice Levasseur (U. Laval)
Michel Gosselin (UQAR/ISMER)
Michael Scarratt (Institut Maurice-Lamontagne)
Jean-Éric Tremblay (U. Laval)
Yves Gratton (INRS-ETE)

Étudiants à la maîtrise 
Myriam Luce (U. Laval)
Jessie Motard-Côté (U. Laval)
Cynthia Gagné (U. Laval)
Marjolaine Blais (U. Laval)
Mariane Berrouard (U. Laval)
Kevin Randall (U. Laval)