NETWORKS AND COLLABORATIVE PROJECTS

Québec-Océan particularly supports collaborative research projects bringing together several research members.

CHONe II (Canadian Healthy Ocean Network II)

Strategic Network funded by NSERC, Fisheries and Oceans and INREST, from 2015 to 2020
The network’s objectives are to analyse ecological benefits of different management actions on seabed (Marine Protected Areas, Sensitive Benthic Areas, gear restriction, seasonal/fisheries closures) and the efficacy of those efforts, in light of cumulative drivers and the global change on going in oceans.
  • Leader  of the 2 projects “Indicators of benthic condition at the Gulf-scale: megabenthic community structure” and  “Indicators at the bay-scale: Coastal stressors and macrobenthic community structure”: Dr Philippe Archambault (UQAR-ISMER)
  • Project leader of “Biogeochemical signatures of ecosystem stress and resilience: nutrient cycles and lipid flow”: Dr Jean-Éric Tremblay (U. Laval)

Notre Golfe

Research project “Appui aux Réseaux d’Innovation” funded by FRQNT, from 2015 to 2018
The network aims to improve knowledge of the natural and socio-economic system of the St. Lawrence Gulf, to promote its sustainable management. Our Gulf brings together 20 researchers in oceanic and social sciences from universities and research centers in Quebec.

BaySys – Contributions of climate change and hydro-electric regulation to the variability and change of freshwater-marine coupling in the Hudson Bay System


Collaborative Research and Development Project, funded by NSERC from 2015 to 2020
This project will study the role that freshwater plays in the Hudson Bay marine and coastal systems. It will provide a scientific basis to separate the relative effects of climate change from those of hydroelectric regulation of freshwater on changing physical, biological and biogeochemical conditions in Hudson Bay. This research will inform decision-making by Manitoba Hydro with respect to existing infrastructure operations and planning for future development on the lower Nelson River in Northern Manitoba.

Green Edge - Biological Productivity in the Arctic Ocean: past, present and future

Research Project funded by ANR and CNES from 2014 to 2018
The general objective of this project is to better understand the dynamics of the phytoplankton spring bloom and determine its role in the Arctic Ocean of tomorrow. Impacts of this bloom on the Arctic trophic web, biodiversity and indigenous human populations will also be studied.

ArcticNet

Network of Centresof Excellence (NCE) funded by the NCE secretariat from 2011 to 2018 
The objective of ArcticNet is to study the impacts of climate change and modernization in the coastal Canadian Arctic. Québec-Océan is a close partner of this network with its research projects (11 in 2011), technical team and scientific management of the Amundsen.

Scientific Director: Dr Louis Fortier (U. Laval)

Production and consumption of krill in the Gulf of St. Lawrence: toward an ecosystem-based stock assessment

Strategic project funded by NSERC and Neptune Biotechnologies, from 2013 to 2016
The prime objective of this project is to examine the ecological resilience of the krill stocks in the St. Lawrence system prior to human exploitation. A combined effort of university and government researchers and an industrial partner will provide new understanding of biological processes and population dynamics of two sympatric krill species, through a complementary approach including field observations, laboratory experiments and modelling. The project will then go beyond the descriptive level and will provide an integrated tool for fact based management decisions.

VITALS (Ventilation, Interactions and Transports across the Labrador Sea)

CCAR Research network funded by NSERC from 2013 to 2018
The VITALS research network will answer fundamental questions about how the deep ocean exchanges carbon dioxide, oxygen, and heat with the atmosphere through the Labrador Sea. VITALS is a pan-Canadian initiative involving scientists from universities, federal government laboratories (Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Environment Canada), industrial and foreign partners.

NETCARE (Network on Climate and Aerosols)

CCAR Research Network funded by NSERC from 2013 to 2018  
NETCARE is focused on specific aerosol-climate connections, in order to better setsimulations of atmospheric processes and climate. This network connects researchers from several Canadian universities and five partner institutions from Canada (Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada) as well from Germany (Alfred Wegener Institute, Max Planck Institute, Johannes Gutenberg University).

St-Lawrence acidification: biochemistry, plankton and climate

Team project funded by FRQNT, from 2012 to 2015 
This project aims to understand processes and impacts of acidification, in relation to temperature, on the phytoplankton of the St-Lawrence estuary. Data were collected during an oceanographic mission onboard the Coriolis II, and using experiments in mesocosms. The team includes researchers from Laval and McGill universities, from UQAR-ISMER and INRS-ETE, and from the Maurice-Lamontagne Institute (Fisheries and Oceans, Canada).

MEOPAR (Marine Environmental Observation Prediction and Response Network)

Network of Centers Excellence funded by NCE, from 2012 to 2017 
MEOPAR is working to help reduce Canada’s vulnerability and exposure to hazards and improve responses to marine emergencies. This is achieved through both partnerships with organizations including Academia, governments, industries, non-governmental organizations, and coastal communities.

TAKUVIK

Joint U. Laval CNRS laboratory, from 2011 to 2018 
The TAKUVIK program is designed to study both the ocean and the land ecosystem and their interactions in the Canadian Arctic. An observatory based on new remote sensing techniques will be set up while diagnostic and predictive models will be developed, validated and used to determine the impact of environmental change on carbon fluxes in Arctic ecosystems.

CAISN II (Canadian Aquatic Invasive Species Network)

Strategic network funded by NSERC from 2011 to 2016 
Several senior members of Québec-Océan (3) are involved in the network and study how invasive species settle and proliferate in Prince Edward Island and the St. Lawrence Estuary.

CFRN (Canadian Fisheries Research Network)

Strategic network funded by NSERC from 2011 to 2016 
The vision of the network is to reconfigure fisheries research conducted in Canada by bringing together members of industry, academia and government around research priorities, and linking to existing research so it is useful to industry and managers.

Enhancing the Canadian METAREAS operational coupled ocean-ice-atmosphere analysis and forecasting system for fine-scale applications in the Beaufort Sea

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada from 2011 to 2015 
The objective is to develop and implement an operational coupled ocean-wave-ice-atmosphere (OWIA) prediction system for short-term forecasting in the Beaufort Sea (BS). Specifically, we will improve the representation of fine-scale features in data assimilation and forecast systems, and improve the short-term forecast skill by including high-latitude coupled processes in OWIA models.

OTN (Ocean Tracking Network)

Strategic network funded by NSERC from 2009 to 2015 
Applying satellite detection technologies to three Canadian oceans, the network aims to revolutionize the way that oceans are observed and understood, ultimately making it possible to respond to problems in the fishing industry and resource management. Two senior members of Québec-Océan are involved in a project on eel in the estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence.

RÉSEAUX ET PROJETS CONCERTÉS

Québec-Océan appuie particulièrement les projets de recherche qui sont le fruit d'une collaboration entre plusieurs de ses membres-chercheurs.

CHONe II (Canadian Healthy Ocean Network II)

Réseau stratégique financé par le CRSNG, Pêches et Océanset INREST, de 2015 à 2020
Le réseau a pour objectif d’analyser les bénéfices écologiques de différents plans de protection des fonds marins (aires marines protégées, aires benthiques sensibles, réglementation des engins de pêche, quotas/fermeture de pêche) et l’efficacité de ces efforts, en tenant compte des impacts cumulés et du changement global en cours dans les océans.
  • Chef des 2 projets “Indicators of benthic condition at the Gulf-scale: megabenthic community structure” et “Indicators at the bay-scale: Coastal stressors and macrobenthic community structure” : Dr Philippe Archambault (UQAR-ISMER)
  • Chef du projet “Biogeochemical signatures of ecosystem stress and resilience: nutrient cycles and lipid flow” : Dr Jean-Éric Tremblay (U. Laval)

Notre Golfe

Projet de recherche « Appui aux Réseaux d’Innovation » financé par le FRQNT, de 2015 à 2018
Le réseau a pour objectif d’améliorer les connaissances sur le système naturel et socio-économique du golfe du Saint-Laurent, afin de favoriser sa gestion durable. Notre Golfe rassemble 20 chercheurs en sciences océaniques et sociales provenant d’universités et de centres de recherche du Québec.

BaySys – Contributions of climate change and hydro-electric regulation to the variability and change of freshwater-marine coupling in the Hudson Bay System

Projet de recherche et de développement coopératif, financé par le CRSNG de 2015 à 2020
Ce projet étudiera le rôle que l’eau douce joue dans les systèmes côtiers et marins de la baie d’Hudson. Il permettra de différencier scientifiquement les impacts du changement climatique et de la régulation hydroélectrique des apports d’eau douce sur les conditions physiques, biologiques et biogéochimiques de la baie d’Hudson. Cette étude informera les preneurs de décision d’Hydro-Manitoba, dans le respect des opérations et de planification des infrastructures prévues dans le bas de la rivière Nelson, au nord du Manitoba.

Green Edge – Productivité biologique dans l’océan arctique : passé, présent et futur

Projet de recherche financé par l’ANR et le CNES de 2014 à 2018
L’objectif général de ce projet est de mieux comprendre la dynamique de la floraison printanière du phytoplancton arctique et de déterminer son rôle dans l’océan Arctique de demain. Les répercussions de cette floraison sur l’ensemble du réseau trophique arctique, la biodiversité et les populations humaines locales seront aussi étudiées.

ArcticNet

Réseau de Centres d'Excellence (RCE) financé par le secrétariat des RCE de 2011 à 2018 
L'objectif d'ArcticNet est d'étudier les impacts des changements climatiques et de la modernisation dans l'Arctique canadien côtier. Québec-Océan exerce un partenariat serré avec ce réseau par ses projets de recherche (11 en 2011), l'équipe technique et la gestion scientifique de l'Amundsen.

Production et consommation du krill dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent : vers une gestion écosystémique des stocks

Projet stratégique financé par le CRSNG et Neptune Biotechnologies de 2013 à 2016
L’objectif principal de ce projet est d’examiner la résilience écologique des stocks de krill dans le système Saint-Laurent, avant leur exploitation par l’homme. Un effort concerté entre les chercheurs des universités et du gouvernement plus un partenaire industriel permettra une meilleure compréhension de la biologie et des dynamiques des populations de deux espèces de krill, grâce à des approches combinant observations in situ, expériences de laboratoire et modélisation. Le projet dépassera donc le niveau descriptif en procurant un outil décisionnel pour la gestion des stocks basée sur la connaissance du milieu.

VITALS (Ventilation, Interactions and Transports across the Labrador Sea)

Réseau de recherche CCAR financé par le CRSNG de 2013 à 2018
Ce réseau répondra à des questions fondamentales sur la façon dont les eaux profondes de la mer du Labrador échangent le dioxyde de carbone, l’oxygène, la chaleur avec l’atmosphère. VITALS est un réseau pancanadien impliquant des universités, des laboratoires du gouvernement fédéral (Pêches et Océans Canada, Environnement Canada), des industries et des partenaires étrangers.

NETCARE (Network on Climate and Aerosols)

Réseau de recherche CCAR financé par le CRSNG de 2013 à 2018 
Ce réseau se concentre sur les connections entre le climat et certains aérosols, de façon à mieux paramétrer les simulations du climat et des phénomènes atmosphériques. Ce réseau connecte des chercheurs de plusieurs universités canadiennes et de cinq institutions du Canada (Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada) et de l’Allemagne (Alfred Wegener Institute, Max Planck Institute, Johannes Gutenberg University).

Acidification du Saint-Laurent: biogéochimie, plancton et climat

Projet d’équipe financé par le FQRNT de 2012 à 2015 
Le projet vise à comprendre les processus en jeu et l’impact de l’acidification, en lien avec la température, sur le phytoplancton de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent. Les données ont été récoltées lors d’une mission océanographique à bord du Coriolis et d’expériences en mésocomes. L’équipe est constituée de chercheurs des universités Laval et de McGill, de l’UQAR-ISMER et de l’INRS-ETE, ainsi que de l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne (Pêches et Océans, Canada).

MEOPAR (Marine Environmental Observation Prediction and Response Network)

Réseau de Centres d’Excellence financé par RCE, de 2012 à 2017 
MEOPAR contribue à réduire l’exposition et la vulnérabilité du Canada aux risques naturels et à améliorer les réponses aux urgences en mer. Ceci est réalisé en partenariat entre universités, institutions gouvernementales, industries, organisations non-gouvernementales et les communautés côtières.

TAKUVIK

Unité mixte internationale CNRS – U. Laval, de 2011 à 2018
Le programme TAKUVIK est conçu pour étudier à la fois l'océan et l'écosystème terrestre, ainsi que leurs interactions dans l'Arctique canadien. Un observatoire basé sur des nouvelles techniques de télédétection sera mis en place tandis que des modèles diagnostiques et prédictifs seront développés, validés et utilisés pour déterminer l'impact des changements environnementaux sur les flux de carbone dans les écosystèmes arctiques.

CAISN II (Canadian Aquatic Invasive Species Network)

Réseau stratégique financé par le CRSNG de 2011 à 2016
Plusieurs membres seniors de Québec-Océan (3) participent au réseau et étudient comment les espèces envahissantes s'introduisent et prolifèrent à l'Ile du Prince Édouard et dans l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent.

CFRN (Canadian Fisheries Research Network)

Réseau stratégique financé par le CRSNG de 2011 à 2016
La vision du réseau est de reconfigurer la recherche sur les pêches réalisée au Canada en réunissant des membres de l'industrie, du milieu de l'enseignement postsecondaire et du gouvernement autour de questions de recherche prioritaires et en établissant un lien avec la recherche existante de façon à ce qu'elle soit utile à l'industrie et aux gestionnaires.

Amélioration du sytème d'analyse et de prévision METAREAS pour des applications à petite échelle dans la mer de Beaufort

Projet financé par le Ministère des Affaires Autochtones et du Développement du Nord de 2011 à 2015
L'objectif du projet est de développer et implémenter un modèle de couplage océan-vagues-glace-atmosphère (OWIA) pour des prédictions journalières dans la mer de Beaufort. Les petites échelles et les processus à hautes latitudes seront particulièrement pris en compte pour l'amélioration du modèle OWIA.

OTN (Ocean Tracking Network)

Réseau stratégique financé par le CRSNG de 2009 à 2015 
Utilisant des technologies de détection spatiale appliquées aux trois océans canadiens, ce réseau vise à révolutionner la façon dont les océans sont observés et compris, dans le but ultime de répondre aux problèmes de l'industrie des pêches et de la gestion des ressources. Deux membres seniors de Québec-Océan sont impliqués dans un projet sur l'anguille de l'estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Québec-Océan est un regroupement stratégique financé par le FRQNT.