SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM – THEME 2

INTEGRITY OF COASTAL MARINE ENVIRONMENTS AND REGIONAL SOCIOECONOMIC ISSUES

The marine environment is used for navigation, live and mineral resource extraction and recreation. Those activities can alter the ecosystem by modifying community habitats and structures and by causing various types of pollution, which add to those caused by domestic, agricultural and industrial waste. Other socioeconomic issues, such as shore erosion and toxic algal blooms, have causes that are both natural and anthropogenic. With a view to sustainable and safe use of coastal marine environments, the Québec-Océan teams are working on 5 sub-themes that correspond to the needs of various provincial departments (MDDEFP) and federal departments (Environment Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada). The results will provide a knowledge base for evaluating the relevance of regulating practices that create disruptions in the marine environment.


2.1. Anthropogenic pollution, nitrogenous eutrophication and marine biotoxins
The sources of pollution in the marine environment are varied and can cause various health problems and even death among humans and animals. The coastal environment is impacted by noise, diverse contaminants (hydrocarbon, for instance) and nitrogen from urban, agricultural and industrial activities or from permafrost melting. Water pollution can drive to de-oxygenation problems (hypoxia) or contaminants’ concentration in the trophic chain, that will finally influence biodiversity and ecosystem functioning. In addition, although most of the harmful substances are of anthropogenic origin, other toxins are naturally produced by algae.


The team is studying the impacts on marine mammals of noise pollution caused by navigation, the impact of changing environmental conditions on toxic algal blooms, the accumulation of anthropogenic contaminants and biotoxins in pelagic and benthic food webs. The processes that regulate the dispersion, persistence and breakdown of various harmful substances are also examined. Likewise the team wants to better understand the nitrogen cycle and its impact on hypoxia observed in deep coastal waters, by quantifying the sources, the assimilation and the transformations by algae and microbes.
  ©

2.2. Biodiversity, conservation marine protected areas
The integrity, health and diversity of marine species, populations and communities are influenced by the anthropogenic activities that extract resources, modify habitats or promote the introduction of invasive species.


The team is evaluating the structure, dispersion and connectivity of populations and communities, at various scales, by using tagging, isotopic tagging, visual inventories, marine acoustics and remote sensing. Several tools and indicators are being used or developed to evaluate ecosystemic responses, including meta-analysis, landscape genetics, productivity, functional genomics and various biodiversity measurements. The results of this approach will make it possible to propose or improve regulations on protected marine areas and the conservation of species and habitats threatened by tourism, navigation, exploitation of stocks and global changes.
  © Caroline Bouchard

2.3. Natural risk factors and coastal erosion
Several natural events, particularly earthquakes, submarine landslides and coastal erosion, are threats to shoreline communities, ecosystems and structures installed on the seabed or along the coast. Shoreline erosion, for example, is susceptible to wave action and sediment dynamics, but also to the effects of climate change on increased water levels, sea ice reduction and freeze-thaw cycles.


The team is analyzing these various phenomena and their signatures with a view to improving natural risk management, anticipation of their potential impacts and proposing ways to lessen such impacts. In the St. Lawrence, wave and sediment dynamics are being studied in coastal marshes and adjacent intertidal zones in order to broaden knowledge of the mechanisms responsible for shoreline erosion and changes in coastal morphology.
  ©

2.4. Operational forecasts of ocean status
Maritime safety and the management of socioeconomic activities, environmental crises and natural risks depend on the ability to describe in real time the various aspects of ocean status, particularly seawater properties, currents, waves and ice movements and to forecast them for the short, medium and long term. That ability is useful, for example, in anticipating the dispersion of contaminants and algal toxins, preventing and containing hydrocarbon contamination, making navigation profitable and safe, optimizing maritime rescue and recovery operations, managing ice near petroleum installations and identifying coastal zones susceptible to water and ice erosion.


The team is combining innovative ocean status measurement and monitoring techniques (satellites, high-frequency radar and buoys) with coupled ocean-wave-ice-atmosphere digital models so as to improve the accuracy and rapidity of operational forecasts.
  © Pierre Coupel
THEME 3 >

Québec-Océan is a strategic cluster funded by FRQNT.

PROGRAMME SCIENTIFIQUE – AXE 2

INTÉGRITÉ DES MILIEUX MARINS CÔTIERS ET ENJEUX SOCIOÉCONOMIQUES RÉGIONAUX

Le milieu marin est utilisé pour la navigation, l’extraction de ressources vivantes ou minérales, et le divertissement. Ces activités peuvent altérer l’écosystème en modifiant l’habitat et la structure des communautés ou en causant différents types de pollution, qui s’ajoutent à celles que causent les rejets domestiques, agricoles et industriels. D’autres enjeux socioéconomiques, tels que l’érosion des berges ou les efflorescences d’algues toxiques, ont des causes à la fois naturelles et anthropiques. C’est dans une optique d’utilisation durable et sécuritaire des milieux marins côtiers que les équipes de Québec-Océan travaillent sur 5 thématiques qui répondent aux besoins des différents ministères provinciaux (MDDEFP) et fédéraux (Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada). Les résultats fourniront une base factuelle de connaissances pour évaluer la pertinence d’encadrer des pratiques générant des perturbations dans le milieu marin.


2.1. Pollution anthropique, eutrophisation azotée et bio-toxines marines
Les sources de pollution en milieu marin sont variées et peuvent causer divers problèmes de santé, voire de la mortalité chez les humains et les animaux, directement ou indirectement. Le milieu côtier est soumis en effet au bruit, aux contaminations diverses (hydrocarbures, par exemple) et aux apports en azote provenant des activités urbaines, agricoles et industrielles ou de la fonte du pergélisol, selon l’endroit. La pollution de l’eau peut mener à des problèmes de désoxygénation (hypoxie) ou de concentration de contaminants dans la chaîne trophique, ce qui, à terme, jouera sur la biodiversité et le fonctionnement des écosystèmes. De plus, bien que la majorité des substances nuisibles soient d’origine anthropique, d’autres toxines sont produites naturellement par des algues.


L’équipe étudie les impacts de la pollution sonore engendrée par la navigation sur les mammifères marins, l’impact des conditions environnementales sur les floraisons d’algues toxiques, l’accumulation des contaminants anthropiques et des bio-toxines dans les réseaux alimentaires pélagiques et benthiques. Les processus régissant la dispersion, la persistance et la dégradation des polluants sont aussi examinés. De plus, l’équipe veut mieux comprendre le cycle de l'azote et son impact sur l'hypoxie observée dans les eaux côtières profondes, en quantifiant les sources, l’assimilation et les transformations par les algues et les microbes.
  ©

2.2. Biodiversité, conservation et aires marines protégées
L’intégrité, la santé et la diversité des espèces, populations et communautés marines sont influencées par les activités anthropiques qui prélèvent la ressource, modifient l’habitat ou facilitent l’introduction d’espèces envahissantes.


L’équipe évalue la structuration, la dispersion et la connectivité à différentes échelles des populations et communautés en utilisant des techniques de marquage, de traçage isotopique, de recensement visuel, d’acoustique marine et de télédétection. Plusieurs outils et indicateurs sont développés et/ou utilisés pour évaluer les réponses écosystémiques, incluant la méta-analyse, la génétique du paysage, la productivité, la génomique fonctionnelle et différentes mesures de la biodiversité. Les résultats de ces recherches permettront de proposer ou d’améliorer la règlementation concernant les aires marines protégées et la conservation des espèces et habitats menacés par l’industrie touristique, la navigation, l’exploitation des stocks et le changement global.
  © Caroline Bouchard

2.3. Risques naturels et érosion côtière
Plusieurs évènements naturels, notamment les tremblements de terre, les glissements sous-marins et l’érosion côtière, menacent les communautés riveraines, les écosystèmes ainsi que les ouvrages installés sur le fond de l’eau ou le long des côtes. L’érosion des berges, par exemple, est sensible à l’action des vagues et à la dynamique sédimentaire, mais aussi à l’effet des changements climatiques sur la hausse du niveau de l’eau, le déclin de la glace de mer et les cycles gel-dégel.


L'équipe analyse ces différents phénomènes et leurs signatures en vue de mieux gérer les risques naturels, anticiper leurs impacts potentiels et proposer des méthodes d'atténuation de ces impacts. Dans le Saint-Laurent, la dynamique des vagues et du sédiment est étudiée dans les marais littoraux et les zones intertidales adjacentes afin d'approfondir la connaissance des mécanismes responsables de l'érosion des berges et des modifications de la morphologie littorale.
  ©

2.4. Prévision opérationnelle de l’état de l’océan
La sécurité maritime et la gestion des activités socioéconomiques, des crises environnementales et des risques naturels reposent sur l’aptitude à décrire en temps réel les différentes facettes de l’état de l’océan, notamment les propriétés de l’eau de mer, les courants, les vagues et les mouvements de la glace, et à les prévoir à court, moyen et long terme. Cette capacité sert, par exemple, à anticiper la dispersion des contaminants et des toxines algales, prévenir et contenir la contamination en hydrocarbures, rentabiliser et sécuriser la navigation, optimiser les opération de sauvetage et de récupération en mer, gérer les glaces à proximité des installations pétrolières et définir les zones côtières sensibles à l’érosion par l’eau et la glace.


L’équipe allie des techniques innovantes de mesure et de monitorage de l’état de l’océan  (satellites, radars haute-fréquence, bouées) à des modèles numériques couplés océan-vagues-glace-atmosphère afin d’améliorer la justesse et la rapidité des prévisions opérationnelles.
  © Pierre Coupel
AXE 3 >