SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM – THEME 1

OCEANIC RESPONSES TO GLOBAL CHANGE

The atmosphere has no political frontiers. The global accumulation of anthropogenic and natural emissions of gases, contaminants, aerosols and particulate matter changes the atmosphere, which has global repercussions on the oceans through warming, deposition and gas exchange. The impacts are many and interactive, affecting water properties, circulation, the health and spatial distribution of marine organisms, the productivity of exploitable resources, biodiversity and fluxes of matter and energy in the ecosystem. The disrupted oceans act in turn on the atmosphere (feedback) by increasing or decreasing the quantities of heat and greenhouse gases that it captures or releases. Québec-Ocean teams are studying the causes and ecological consequences of 4 ocean responses to global change.


1.1. See ice melt
The decline in the extent, thickness and seasonal persistence of sea ice in arctic and subarctic zones threatens organisms that depend on it, allows the invasion of species from the south, facilitates navigation and the exploitation of natural resources, and weakens the "mirror effect" that reflects into space a large part of incoming solar radiations. The newly absorbed radiation heats the water and increases the light available for photosynthesis, which underpins ecosystem productivity. By exposing water to the air, the loss of ice facilitates the action of the wind on the water column and intensifies ocean-atmosphere interactions and wave activity, which further fragments the ice. Meltwater from sea ice, glaciers and icebergs combines with river discharge, resulting in the freshening of surface waters and increasing vertical stratification. This stratification interferes with the physical processes that allow the upward supply of nutrients on which all life depends, as well as the formation of deep water that drives global ocean circulation and buffers the climate.


The team is making in-situ and remote sensing measurements, carrying out laboratory experiments and developing coupled numerical models to quantify, understand and predict ice loss and its consequences on ocean circulation, deep water formation, ocean-atmosphere exchanges of heat and greenhouse gases, carbon storage and the diversity, productivity and function of living resources.
  ©TAKUVIK

1.2. Oceanic acidification
A major portion of anthropogenic CO2 does not accumulate in the atmosphere but is captured by the oceans, where it reacts with the water to form carbonic acid, which is a weak acid whose dissociation releases hydrogen protons (H+) and lowers the pH of the water. The H+ concentration in seawater has increased globally by 26%. The acidification is accentuated in cold waters, where the solubility of gases is higher, and beneath the productive oceanic zones, where the decomposition of organic matter releases deepwater CO2. Acidification is likely to harm organisms (e.g., corals) that depend on a relatively high pH for shell synthesis, to promote the production of microalgae whose CO2 concentration mechanisms are relatively ineffective and to have an effect on some stages of the nitrogen cycle.


The team is quantifying and documenting acidification in the Arctic Ocean and the St. Lawrence Estuary and Gulf, where the input of fresh water and upwelling of deep water contributes to acidification. The team is documenting acidification and studying its impacts on organisms, community structures, gases affecting climate and biogeochemical fluxes of carbon, nitrogen and sulfur.
  © Chloé Martias

1.3. Oxygen loss
The ocean is loosing oxygen (O2) and the spatial extent of O2-poor areas is increasing. Lack of O2 (hypoxia) or its absence (anoxia) has harmful effects on marine animals. It also impedes the action of aerobic bacteria, which decompose organic matter and recycle essential nutrients, and promotes the development of anaerobic bacteria, which can release harmful substances (e.g., H2S and N2O) and deprive offshore waters of fixed nitrogen. Oxygen loss can also be caused by eutrophication and increasing runoff of terrestrial organic matter in coastal environments, the metabolism of migrating animals, the decline in solubility related to warming, ice melting, and the weakening of vertical motions that ventilate the deep ocean.


The team is studying physical, chemical and biological phenomena that affect O2 concentrations at the regional and global scales, as well as the consequences of O2 loss on biodiversity and the ocean’s biogeochemical functions.
  © Denis Gilbert

1.4. Ocean-climate feedbacks
The ocean acts on the atmosphere in several ways that either accentuate or attenuate climate change. The oceans regulate climate by absorbing and redistributing large quantities of heat and CO2 through the surface and deepwater circulation. They already absorbed over one third of anthropogenic CO2 emissions and 93% of the related heat gain on the planetary scale. Vast quantities of methane (CH4), which is a greenhouse gas more potent than CO2, are frozen in shallow Arctic sediments now exposed to warming. The activity of marine organisms also modifies sea-air gas exchange and ocean storage  by consuming or producing gases that exacerbate (CO2, CH4, N2O) or temper (DMS) warming.


The team is studying and modeling the processes responsible for the consumption, production and air-sea exchange of greenhouse gases with respect to the structure and function of food webs, ocean circulation and the formation of deep waters, acidification and the availability of the nutrients iron and nitrogen.
  © Martin Fortier
THEME 2 >

PROGRAMME SCIENTIFIQUE – AXE 1

RÉPONSES DE L'OCÉAN AU CHANGEMENT GLOBAL

L’air ne connait pas de frontières. Le cumul planétaire des émissions anthropiques et naturelles de gaz, de contaminants, d’aérosols et de particules modifie l’atmosphère puis affecte les océans globalement via le réchauffement, la déposition et les échanges gazeux. Les impacts sont multiples et interactifs, affectant à la fois les propriétés de l’eau, la circulation, la santé et la répartition spatiale des organismes qui y vivent, la productivité des ressources exploitables, la biodiversité et les flux de matière et d’énergie dans l’écosystème. L’océan perturbé agit en retour sur l’atmosphère (rétroaction) en modulant les quantités de chaleur et de gaz à effets climatiques qu’il capte ou libère. Les équipes de Québec-Océan étudient les causes et les conséquences écologiques de 4 réponses océaniques au changement global.


1.1. Fonte de la glace de mer
Le déclin de l’étendue, de l’épaisseur et de la persistance saisonnière de la banquise en zones arctiques et subarctiques menace les organismes qui en dépendent, permet l’invasion d’espèces venant du sud, facilite l’accès à l’Arctique ainsi que l’exploitation de ses ressources naturelles et atténue l’effet miroir qui retourne vers l’espace une grande part du rayonnement solaire. Les radiations non-réfléchies par la glace et la neige qu’elle supporte réchauffent l’eau et augmentent la lumière disponible pour la photosynthèse qui sous-tend la productivité de l’écosystème. En exposant l’eau à l’air, la perte de glace accentue l’action du vent sur la colonne d’eau, intensifie les interactions océan-atmosphère ainsi que les vagues qui fragmentent la banquise. L’eau de fonte de la glace de mer se combine à celle des glaciers, icebergs et grands fleuves pour abaisser la salinité et augmenter la stratification verticale. Cette stratification s’oppose au mélange qui permet la réintroduction en surface des nutriments dont toute vie dépend, ainsi qu’à la formation des eaux profondes qui engendre la circulation océanique globale et tempère le climat.


L’équipe utilise des mesures en mer et par télédétection, expérimente en laboratoire et développe des modèles numériques couplés afin de quantifier, comprendre et prévoir le déclin de la banquise et ses conséquences sur la circulation océanique, la formation des eaux profondes, les échanges océans-atmosphère de chaleur et de gaz à effet climatique, la biodiversité et la productivité des communautés et des ressources renouvelables pélagiques et benthiques, ainsi que le stockage du carbone.
  ©TAKUVIK

1.2. Acidification des océans
Une part importante du CO2 anthropique ne s’accumule pas dans l’atmosphère, mais est captée par l’océan où il réagit avec l’eau pour former de l’acide carbonique, un acide faible dont la dissociation libère des protons (H+) et abaisse le pH de l’eau.  La concentration de l’eau de mer en H+ a augmenté de 26% globalement. Cette acidification est accentuée en eau froide, où la solubilité des gaz est plus élevée, et sous les zones productives de l’océan où la décomposition de la matière organique relâche du CO2 en profondeur. L’acidification est susceptible de nuire aux organismes (ex : coraux) qui dépendent d’un pH relativement élevé pour synthétiser leur coquilles, de favoriser la production de micro-algues dont les mécanismes de concentration du CO2 sont relativement peu efficaces, et d’affecter certaines étapes du cycle de l’azote.


L’équipe quantifie et documente l’acidification dans l’Arctique et le Saint-Laurent, où les apports d’eau douce et les remontées d’eau profondes contribuent à l’acidification. Elle documente l’acidification et étudie ses impacts sur les organismes, la structure des communautés, les gaz à action climatique et les flux biogéochimiques de carbone, d’azote et de souffre.
  © Chloé Martias

1.3. Désoxygénation de l’eau
La désoxygénation de l’océan et l’ampleur des zones appauvries en oxygène (O2) sont en progression. Le manque d’O2(hypoxie) ou son absence (anoxie) a des effets délétères sur les animaux marins. Il freine l’action des bactéries aérobies qui décomposent la matière organique et recyclent les nutriments essentiels, favorisant ainsi le développement de bactéries anaérobies qui relâchent des substances nuisibles (ex : H2S, N2O) et appauvrissent les eaux du large en azote fixé. La désoxygénation peut être causée par l’eutrophisation et des apports continentaux croissants de matière organique en milieu côtier, le métabolisme des animaux migrateurs, une baisse de solubilité liée au réchauffement, la fonte des glaces et l’affaiblissement du mélange vertical et de la circulation océanique qui ventilent l’océan profond.


L’équipe étudie les phénomènes physiques, chimiques et biologiques qui affectent les teneurs en O2 à l’échelle régionale et globale, ainsi que les conséquences de cette désoxygénation sur la biodiversité et le fonctionnement biogéochimique de l’océan.
  © Denis Gilbert

1.4. Rétroactions océan-climat
Plusieurs mécanismes permettent à l’océan de rétroagir sur l’atmosphère pour accentuer ou atténuer le changement climatique. Les océans régulent le climat en absorbant et en redistribuant de grandes quantités de chaleur et de CO2 grâce à la circulation superficielle et profonde. L’océan a déjà absorbé 42% des émissions anthropiques de CO2 et 93% du gain associé de chaleur à l’échelle planétaire. De vastes quantités de méthane (CH4), un gaz à effet de serre beaucoup plus puissant que le CO2, sont congelés dans les fonds marins de l’Arctique en réchauffement. Les organismes marins modifient les échanges océan-atmosphère en consommant ou en produisant des gaz qui exacerbent (CO2, CH4, N20) ou tempèrent (DMS) le réchauffement.


L’équipe étudie et modélise les processus responsables de la consommation, de la production et du devenir des gaz à effet climatique en lien avec la structure et le fonctionnement des réseaux alimentaires, la circulation océanique et la formation des eaux profondes, l’acidification et la disponibilité en fer et en azote.
  © Martin Fortier
AXE 2 >