SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM

The major challenges we face regarding our oceans are the preservation of planetary environmental integrity, biodiversity and the services provided by marine ecosystems to humanity. These challenges have global and regional dimensions and are well outlined in the Ocean Health Index (Halpern et al. 2012) which measures the impact of human activities on the following services and benefits:

  • Water quality;
  • Biodiversity of marine species and habitats;
  • Carbon storage;
  • Sense of place;
  • Sustainable extraction of food resources;
  • Artisanal fishing opportunities;
  • Coastal livelihoods and economies;
  • Sustainable extraction of non-food resources (natural products);
  • Coastal protection by natural habitats;
  • Tourism and recreation.

The scientific program of Québec-Océan tackles major global and regional ocean challenges by generating scientific knowledge on the status and functioning of marine environments. Regional focal points are the Arctic Ocean and the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence. The program is based on those 10 elements (listed above) as well as the 40 Priority Research Questions for Ocean Science in CanadaQuébec-Océan's public declaration and the IPCC's Fifth Assessment Report (AR5).

In order to support ecosystem health assessments, evaluations of the risks posed by environmental change, and the formulation of society's response to ocean challenges, the factual basis of our research will be made available to the general public and our partners in federal departments (e.g., Fisheries and Oceans Canada, DFO), in provincial departments (e.g., Québec Ministère du Développement Durable, de l’Environnement et de la lutte aux changements climatiques, MDDELCC), in industry and in regional organizations (e.g., ZIP comittees).

THEME 1: OCEANIC RESPONSES TO GLOBAL CHANGE

1.1. Sea ice melt
1.2. Ocean acidification
1.3. Oxygen loss
1.4. Ocean-climate feedbacks

THEME 2: INTEGRITY OF COASTAL MARINE ENVIRONMENTS AND REGIONAL SOCIOECONOMIC ISSUES

2.1. Anthropogenic pollution, nitrogenous eutrophication and marine biotoxins
2.2. Biodiversity, conservation and marine protected areas
2.3. Natural risks and coastal erosion
2.4. Operational forecasting of ocean state

THEME 3: NEW FRONTIERS IN OCEANOGRAPHY

3.1. Circulation, eddies and turbulence
3.2. Ecology and life cycle of marine organisms
3.3. Cycling of essential elements: links to biodiversity
3.4. Fluxes of matter across marine interfaces
3.5. Cutting-edge observing technologies

 

Québec-Océan is a strategic cluster funded by FRQNT.

PROGRAMME SCIENTIFIQUE

Les grandes problématiques qui touchent les océans concernent le maintien de l’intégrité environnementale planétaire, de la biodiversité et des services qu’ils procurent à l’humanité. Ces enjeux majeurs ont des dimensions globales et régionales qui sont bien résumées par l’Indice de la Santé des Océans (Halpern et al. 2012) mesurant l’impact des activités humaines sur dix services et bienfaits de l’océan :

  • La qualité de l’eau;
  • Le maintien de la biodiversité, des espèces et des habitats;
  • L’entreposage du carbone;
  • L’étendue des zones protégées et l’état des espèces emblématiques;
  • L’extraction durable des ressources alimentaires;
  • Le maintien de la pêche artisanale;
  • L’emploi et l’économie dans les communautés côtières;
  • L’extraction durable des ressources non-alimentaires;
  • La protection des côtes par l’habitat naturel;
  • L’attractivité touristique.

Le programme de recherche de Québec-Océan répond aux grands enjeux régionaux et globaux en produisant des résultats scientifiques sur l’état et le fonctionnement des milieux marins. L’emphase est mise sur l’océan Arctique en mutation et le système du Saint-Laurent, tout en continuant de poursuivre des recherches au niveau mondial. Le programme s’inspire non seulement des services et bienfaits des océans énumérés ci-dessus, mais aussi des 40 questions prioritaires pour la recherche canadienne en science de la mer, de la déclaration de Québec-Océan (colloque 2012) et du rapport AR5 du GIEC.

Les bases factuelles de ces recherches pourront être prises en compte par le public et les partenaires des ministères fédéraux (ex: ministère des Pêches et des Océans, MPO Canada) et provinciaux (ex : ministère du Développement Durable, de l’Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs, MDDEFP Québec), de l’industrie et des organismes régionaux (ex : comités Zone d’Intervention Prioritaire, ZIP) afin de mesurer la santé des écosystèmes, d’évaluer les risques posés par le changement environnemental, d’établir l’acceptabilité sociale de différentes activités socioéconomiques et de les encadrer.

AXE 1 : RÉPONSES DE L'OCÉAN AU CHANGEMENT GLOBAL

1.1. Fonte de la glace de mer
1.2. Acidification des océans
1.3. Désoxygénation de l’eau
1.4. Rétroactions océan-climat

AXE 2 : INTÉGRITÉ DES MILIEUX MARINS CÔTIERS ET ENJEUX SOCIOÉCONOMIQUES RÉGIONAUX

2.1. Pollution anthropique, eutrophisation azotée et bio-toxines marines
2.2. Biodiversité, conservation et aires marines protégées
2.3. Risques naturels et érosion côtière
2.4. Prévision opérationnelle de l’état de l’océan

AXE 3 : NOUVELLES FRONTIÈRES EN OCÉANOGRAPHIE

3.1. Circulation, tourbillons et turbulence
3.2. Écologie et cycle vital des organismes marins
3.3. Cycles des éléments essentiels en lien avec la biodiversité
3.4. Flux de matière aux interfaces du milieu marin
3.5. Technologies d’avant-garde pour l’observation du milieu marin