DATA MANAGEMENT – POLICY

QUÉBEC-OCÉAN DATA MANAGEMENT POLICY

 

1. Introduction

Québec-Océan (QO) is a strategic cluster of oceanographic researchers from the principal Québec universities and their governmental and private sector partners. QO has approximately 220 members, for the most part, divided between Université Laval, Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR), Université McGill, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC), Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique – Eau-Terre-Environnment (INRS-ETE), and the Maurice-Lamontagne Institute (Fisheries and Oceans, Canada). Their fields of expertise range from physics to geology, chemistry, and biology. Québec-Océan's mission is to support Québec researchers and the training of students, to promote excellence in oceanographic research and the dissemination of knowledge.

The abundant data generated by researchers are increasingly in demand, not only by the scientists themselves, but also by government officials, industry, conservation organizations and the general public. With growing technological and computer facilities that allow the acquisition and treatment of an impressive amount of data of all kinds, it is now possible to conduct very informative meta-analyzes and meta-syntheses. Local or point data, stemming from many studies, can be combined in a large-scale datasets to obtain answers to complex issues, currently of global concern, that would not have come to light in the original studies. It is therefore quite pertinent to favor the archiving, interpretation, and dissemination of data generated by Québec-Océan members. Since the group cannot itself ensure data archiving and dissemination, it participates in the development of data management platforms. Québec-Océan intends to promote the achievements of its members and ensure data continuity through its Data Management Policy (DMP).

An ad hoc committee was put in place in October 2013 to write Québec-Océan's DMP project, as presented here, and to propose incentives for the group's members to archive and disseminate their data. The policy and its incentives have been ratified by the Board of Directors.

 

2. Objectives

The main goal of the Québec-Océan's data management policy is to facilitate the exchange of data between researchers and other interest groups in Québec, Canada and at the international level. This includes easier access to data archiving sites to secure data and ensure their sustainability. This policy also includes recommendations for data and metadata formatting, so the data follows international standards and are compatible with the widest possible range of data exchange platforms. The second goal is to provide a forum for members to showcase their research results, beyond presenting them in publications and at conferences.

 

3. Data definition

Québec-Océan data are those collected and generated by QO members. It is imperative that these data be associated with the metadata that describes the context of their creation. The metadata are used as reference points for the data sets. However, the metadata can be archived independently of the data. Throughout the remainder of the DMP the word « data » is used to refer equally to the metadata and the data.

 

4. Data management and Hosting

Considering QO's limited resources, the group does not host data, but actively participates in the archiving and dissemination efforts in multiple ways, such as:

  • For the St. Lawrence Estuary and Gulf data, Québec-Océan collaborates with the Institut des sciences de la mer de Rimouski (ISMER), the St. Lawrence Global Observatory (SLGO), and the Maurice-Lamontagne Institute (MLI) on the archiving in the Environmental Data Management System (EDMS) and on the dissemination of data through the SLGO's website. The EDMS was originally oriented towards the archiving of physical data such as those from CTDs (Conductivity-Temperature-Depth), but it is structured to host most types of environmental data.
  • For the Arctic Ocean data, Québec-Océan is collaborating with ArcticNet to archive and disseminate data through the Polar Data Catalogue.

Furthermore, Québec-Océan devotes a page on its website to promote data archiving, including:
- archiving templates specific to different types of data;
- links toward relevant online data repositories;
- data references.

 

5. Measures favouring archiving

QO encourages all of its members to archive their data by way of targeted actions and the availability of tools to facilitate operations. This is particularly intended for recent data, but ideally, older data should also be archived.

QO requires its members, whose projects were funded by QO, to archive their data.

In all cases, QO asks its members to inform QO's resource personnel of their data archiving activities so a register of the references can be compiled on the QO website.

For everyone's benefit, QO urges its members to archive their data as rapidly as possible, no later than 3 years after acquisition. Publication of research results in open access journals, which offers the benefit of archiving data in electronic supplements or dedicated tables, is particularly recommended. It should be noted that in most cases, a request can be made to the archiving and data dissemination sites to restrict data access for a certain period of time. The eventual restricted access will be indicated in QO's data references.

 

6. Data format

The ISO 19115:2003 standard has become the international reference for geographical information in the field of metadata. This standard provides information about the identification, extent, quality, spatial and temporal references, and distribution of digital geographical data. Québec-Océan therefore recommends the use of this standard. The Polar Data Catalogue provides documentation on this subject.
http://polardatanetwork.ca/wp-content/uploads/CPDNBestPracticeForNapMetadata1.pdf

To archive oceanographic data in the Environmental Data Management System (EDMS), the format to follow is the Ocean Data Format (ODF) type. It is a text format initially developed at the Bedford Oceanographic Institute (Fisheries and Oceans, Canada) to describe physical, biological, and chemical Québec-Océan: March 31, 2014 data series. An ODF file is comprised of a set of blocks of headers that describe the data, followed by the data block. A precise description of the ODF format can be found at the following address: http://slgo.ca/app-sgdo/fr/docs_reference/format_odf.html.

As for the Polar Data Catalogue, the data are structured according to the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) format, which is compatible with ISO standards. The Polar Data Catalogue was developed by ArcticNet, in partnership with the Canadian Cryospheric Information Network (CCIN). A complete description of the format can be found in:
https://www.polardata.ca/pdcinput/public/PDC_Best_Practices_FULL.pdf

 

7. Intellectual Property (IP) and responsibility

Data ownership is determined by Canadian law and by the policies of institutions to which the authors belong. QO is in no way involved in the intellectual property of data.
QO is generally not responsible for the quality of its members' data. Physical data, such as water body temperature, salinity and density, should be validated by the person responsible for the quality of the data and are therefore presumed to be of good quality. However, with respect to possible errors, QO offers no guarantee regarding data.
In all cases, data users are responsible for their use of the data.
Québec-Océan invites users to report errors to the data manager of the data base used (ODMS: Pascal Guillot, pascal.guillot@qo.ulaval.ca, T. 418 723 1986 # 1896).

 

8. Data acknowledgment

The users of QO members' data must formally acknowledge data producers (authors) and distributors. Data citation must follow as much as possible the rules of the data base where they are archived. Otherwise, the author-date system must be applied, using the following model if possible:

Model:

Author(s) (year of data acquisition) Title. Date of data archiving, Archiving site, Distributor, Numbered reference.

The data user must inform the data contributor of any work involving the latter's data. The user must specify how the data were used to produce his/her work.

Examples of references:

Gagné JP (2007) Mission EGSL 2007 : Données CTD. Archives de données environnementales (ISMER/QO) dans http://ogsl.ca/archive/?lg=fr, Observatoire global du Saint-Laurent.

Tremblay J-E (2011) Nutrient data for the Northwest Passage in 2011 (ArcticNet 2011-leg 3). Metadata accessed 2012-01-24 at www.polardata.ca, Canadian Cryospheric Information Network (CCIN) 11259.

Hop H, C-J Mundy, M Gosselin, AL Rossnagel, D Barber (2011) Chlorophyll a concentration and zooplankton abundance and biomass below melting sea ice in the Amundsen Gulf. doi:10.1594/PANGAEA.811354

GESTION DES DONN…ES – POLITIQUE

POLITIQUE DE GESTION DES DONNÉES DE QUÉBEC-OCÉAN

 

1. Introduction

Québec-Océan (QO) est un regroupement stratégique qui réunit les chercheurs en océanographie des principales universités québécoises et leurs partenaires du gouvernement ainsi que du secteur privé. Le groupe interinstitutionnel de recherches océanographiques du Québec rassemble ainsi environ 220 membres, pour la plupart répartis entre l'Université Laval, l'Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR), l'Université McGill, l'Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC) et l'Institut National de Recherche Scientifique - Eau, Terre et Environnement (INRS-ETE) et l'Institut Maurice-Lamontagne (Pêches et Océans, Canada). Les domaines d'expertise proviennent de la physique, de la géologie, de la chimie et de la biologie. La mission de Québec-Océan consiste à favoriser la mobilisation des chercheurs québécois et la formation des étudiants afin d'assurer l'excellence de la recherche en océanographie et la diffusion du savoir.

Les nombreuses données générées par les chercheurs sont de plus en plus demandées, non seulement par les scientifiques eux-mêmes, mais aussi par les responsables gouvernementaux, l'industrie, les organismes de conservation ou le grand public. Avec les facilités technologiques et informatiques grandissantes qui permettent l'acquisition et le traitement d'un nombre impressionnant de données de nature variée, il est désormais possible de mener des méta-analyses ou des méta-synthèses fort instructives. Elles permettent d'intégrer en effet des données locales ou ponctuelles, issues de plusieurs études, dans un ensemble à grande échelle, et d'obtenir ainsi des réponses aux enjeux complexes et globaux de l'heure qui ne seraient pas apparues dans les études originales. Il est donc tout à fait pertinent de favoriser l'archivage, l'interprétation et la diffusion des données générées par les membres de Québec-Océan. Puisque le regroupement ne peut assurer l'archivage et la diffusion des données par lui-même, il participe au développement de plateformes de gestion de données. Québec-Océan entend ainsi valoriser les réalisations des membres et assurer la pérennité des données par une Politique de Gestion des Données (PGD).

Un comité ad hoc a été mis en place en octobre 2013 afin de rédiger un projet de PGD de Québec-Océan, telle que présentée ici, et de proposer des incitatifs aux membres du regroupement pour archiver et diffuser leurs données. La politique et les incitatifs sont entérinés par le conseil d'administration de QO.

 

2. Objectifs

Le but principal de la politique de gestion des données de Québec-Océan est de faciliter l'échange de données entre les chercheurs et les autres groupes d'intérêt, au Québec, au Canada et à l'international. Cela comprend un accès facilité aux sites d'archivage de données afin de sécuriser ces dernières et d'en garantir la pérennité. Cette politique inclut également des recommandations pour le formatage des données et des métadonnées, afin qu'elles suivent les standards internationaux et soient compatibles avec le plus grand nombre possible de plateformes d'échange de données.
Le but secondaire vise à offrir une vitrine à la production des chercheurs, au-delà des publications et conférences qui présentent leurs analyses et leurs résultats.

 

3. Définition des données

Les données de Québec-Océan sont celles qui sont recueillies et produites par les membres de QO. Ces données doivent être absolument associées à leurs métadonnées qui décrivent le contexte de leur saisie. Ces dernières servent de clés d'accès aux ensembles de données. Toutefois, les métadonnées peuvent être archivées indépendamment des données. Le reste de la PGD emploie le terme « données » pour désigner indifféremment les métadonnées et les données.

 

4. Gestion des données et Hébergement

Compte tenu des ressources limitées de QO, le regroupement n'héberge pas les données, mais participe
activement à l'effort d'archivage et de diffusion de plusieurs façons, notamment :

  • Pour les données de l'estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent, Québec-Océan travaille en collaboration avec l'Institut des sciences de la mer de Rimouski (ISMER), l'Observatoire global du Saint-Laurent (OGSL) et l'Institut Maurice-Lamontagne (IML) à l'archivage dans le Système de gestion de données environnementales (SGDE) et à la diffusion des données par le site Internet de l'OGSL. Dans un premier temps, le SGD0 était surtout orienté vers l'archivage de données physiques celles provenant des CTP (Conductivité-Température-Profondeur), mais il a été structuré pour héberger à peu près tous les types de données environnementales.
  • Pour les données provenant de l'océan Arctique, Québec-Océan travaille en collaboration avec ArcticNet pour archiver et diffuser les données par le Polar Data Catalogue.

De plus, Québec-Océan consacre une section du site Internet de QO (Réalisations | Gestion des données) à la promotion de l'archivage des données, incluant :
- des gabarits d’archivage propres aux différents types de données;
- des liens vers les dépôts de données pertinents;
- les références des données archivées.

 

5. Mesures favorisant l’archivage

QO encourage tous ses membres à archiver leurs données par des mesures ciblés et la mise à la disposition d'outils facilitant les opérations. Les données récentes sont particulièrement visées, bien qu'idéalement, les données plus anciennes doivent aussi être archivées.

QO exige l'archivage des données des membres dont les projets ont été financés par QO.

Dans tous les cas, QO demande à ses membres d'informer les personnes-ressources de QO de l'archivage de leurs données afin que les références puissent être recensées dans le site Internet de QO.

QO incite ses membres à archiver leurs données aussitôt que possible et avant un délai de 3 ans suivant leur acquisition, dans l'intérêt de tous. La publication des résultats de recherche dans des revues libres d'accès, qui offre l'avantage de pouvoir archiver les données dans des suppléments électroniques ou des tables de données, est particulièrement recommandée. Il est à noter que dans la plupart des cas, un accès restreint aux données pour un certain temps peut être demandé aux sites d'archivage et de diffusion de données. L'accès restreint éventuel sera mentionné dans les références de données de QO.

 

6. Format des données

La norme ISO 19115: 2003 est devenue la référence internationale pour l'information géographique dans le domaine des métadonnées. Cette norme fournit l'information sur l'identification, l'étendue, la qualité, les références spatio-temporelles et la distribution des données géographiques digitales. Québec-Océan préconise donc l'utilisation de ce standard. Le Polar Data Catalogue fournit de la documentation à ce sujet.
http://polardatanetwork.ca/wp-content/uploads/CPDNBestPracticeForNapMetadata1.pdf

Pour archiver les données océanographiques dans le Système de Gestion de Données Environnementales (SGDE), le format à suivre est de type Ocean Data Format (ODF). C’est un format texte développé initialement à l’Institut Océanographique de Bedford (Pêches et Océans, Canada) pour décrire des séries de données physiques, biologiques et chimiques. Un fichier ODF comprend un ensemble de blocs d’en-têtes qui décrivent les données, suivi du bloc de données. Une description précise du format ODF est accessible à l’adresse suivante : http://slgo.ca/app-sgdo/fr/docs_reference/format_odf.html.

Pour le Polar Data Catalogue, les données sont structurées selon le format du Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC), qui est compatible avec les standards ISO. Le Polar Data Catalogue a été mis au point par ArcticNet en partenariat avec le Canadian Cryospheric Information Network (CCIN). Une description très complète du format à utiliser peut être trouvée dans :
https://www.polardata.ca/pdcinput/public/PDC_Best_Practices_FULL.pdf

 

7. Propriété intellectuelle (PI) et responsabilité

La propriété des données est déterminée par la loi canadienne et par les politiques des institutions auxquelles appartiennent les auteurs. En aucun cas QO n'est concerné par la propriété intellectuelle des données.
QO n'est généralement pas responsable de la qualité des données de ses membres. Les données physiques, telles que la température, la salinité et la densité des masses d'eau, peuvent être validées par le responsable de la qualité des données de QO et sont dans ce cas de bonne qualité. Toutefois, en regard aux erreurs toujours possibles, QO n'offre aucune forme de garantie quant à ces données. Les utilisateurs des données restent dans tous les cas responsables de l'utilisation qu'ils font des données.
Québec-Océan invite les utilisateurs à rapporter les erreurs rencontrées au gestionnaire de données de la base de donnée utilisée (SGDE: Pascal Guillot, pascal.guillot@qo.ulaval.ca, T. 418 723 1986 # 1896).

 

8. Reconnaissance des données

Les utilisateurs des données des membres de QO doivent reconnaître les producteurs (auteurs) et les distributeurs de données. La référence des données doit suivre les règles éventuelles du dépôt de données où elles sont archivées. A défaut, il faut appliquer le système auteur-date, si possible selon le modèle suivant :

Modèle :

Le(s) auteur(s) (l'année d'acquisition des données) Le Titre. La date d'archivage des données, Le lieu d'archivage, Le distributeur, La référence chiffrée.

L'utilisateur de données doit aviser le contributeur de données de tout travail impliquant ses données. Il doit spécifier comment les données ont été utilisées pour produire le travail.

Exemples de références :

Gagné JP (2007) Mission EGSL 2007 : Données CTD. Archives de données environnementales (ISMER/QO) dans http://ogsl.ca/archive/?lg=fr, Observatoire global du Saint-Laurent.

Tremblay J-E (2011) Nutrient data for the Northwest Passage in 2011 (ArcticNet 2011-leg 3). Metadata accessed 2012-01-24 at www.polardata.ca, Canadian Cryospheric Information Network (CCIN) 11259.

Hop H, C-J Mundy, M Gosselin, AL Rossnagel, D Barber (2011) Chlorophyll a concentration and zooplankton abundance and biomass below melting sea ice in the Amundsen Gulf. doi:10.1594/PANGAEA.811354