DATA MANAGEMENT – DATA REPOSITORIES

VALUABLE DATA REPOSITORIES FOR QUÉBEC-OCÉAN'S MEMBERS


 BCO-DMO
The Biological and Chemical Oceanography Data Management Office (BCO-DMO) is a facility where marine biogeochemical and ecological data can easily be disseminated, protected, and stored on short and intermediate time-frames. The BCO-DMO data system can accommodate many different types of data including biological, chemical, and physical measurements and results, plus their metadata. A data management backend allows data to reside at multiple sites, for a best security goal.
 BIOCHEM
BioChem was developed and is maintained by DFO to hold biological and chemical data resulting from research initiatives or that are collected in areas of Canadian interest. The data held in BioChem are divided into two functional areas. On one hand, discrete data are usually coming from water bottle sampling (examples are nutrients, dissolved oxygen, and chlorophyll). On the other hand, plankton data are usually issued from towed nets (examples are species counts and biomass measures). In addition to its initial goal of providing data to support climate research, the archived data are also used for other purposes, for example, to improve our understanding of ecosystem variability and to support fisheries research.
 DRYAD
Dryad is an international disciplinary repository of data underlying scientific and medical publications. Dryad is a curated general-purpose repository that makes a wide diversity of datatypes (text, spreadsheets, video, photographs, software code) discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. The scientific, educational, and charitable mission of Dryad is to promote the availability of data underlying findings in the scientific literature for research and educational reuse.
 GENBANK
The GenBank sequence database is an open access, annotated collection of all publicly available nucleotide sequences and their protein translations. This database is produced and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), as part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration (INSDC). The GenBank database is designed to provide and encourage access within the scientific community to the most up to date and comprehensive DNA sequence information. Therefore, NCBI places no restrictions on the use or distribution of the GenBank data. However, some submitters may claim patent, copyright, or other intellectual property rights in all or a portion of the data they have submitted.
 ICES MARINE DATA
ICES (International Council for the Exploration of the Sea) is an intergovernmental organization whose main objective is to increase the scientific knowledge of the marine environment and its living resources, and to use this knowledge to provide advice to competent authorities. The ICES Data Centre manages a number of large dataset collections related to the marine environment covering the North East Atlantic, Baltic Sea, Greenland Sea and Norwegian Sea. The dataset collections are organised around specific thematic data portals, as well as an overarching data warehouse. The current dataset portals provided by ICES are: Oceanographic data; Biological community and Contaminants; Fish trawl survey; Eggs and Larvae; Historical data on Fish predation (stomach contents) and Plankton.
 OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is not a database, but an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. The current directory lists repositories and allows selection by a variety of criteria. Data stored in the repositories cover a wide variety of academic products, but most often these are publications, theses and patents.
 PANGEA
The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. The system guarantees long-term availability of its content through a commitment of the operating institutions. Most of the data are freely available and can be used under the terms of the license mentioned on the data set description. A few password protected data sets are under moratorium because of ongoing projects. The description of each data set is always visible and includes the principal investigator (PI) who may be asked for access. Each dataset can be identified, shared, published and cited by using a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). Citations are available through the portal of the German National Library of Science and Technology (GetInfo).
 POLAR DATA CATALOGUE
The Polar Data Catalogue is an online database of metadata that describes, indexes and provides access points to diverse data sets generated by Arctic and Antarctic research. The records are in an international format (FGDC) to allow exchange among databases, and they cover a wide range of disciplines, from natural sciences to policy, from health to social sciences. The catalogue includes a geospatial search tool that is available to the public and researchers alike, and that allows searching for spatial data using a web-based mapping interface. It also allows combining spatial referencing with keywords, categories and dates.
 ENVIRONMENTAL DATA MANAGEMENT SYSTEM (EDMS-IML and EDMS-ISMER/QO) AND ST LAWRENCE GLOBAL OBSERVATORY (SLGO)

Two EDMS databases allow users to archive or obtain data scientifically collected along the estuary and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Data accepted by the two EDMS can come from physical, biological and chemical measures that are oceanographic, atmospheric or terrestrial data. Oceanographic data must comply with Ocean Data Format (ODF). Other data can be in different formats. In both cases, a set of headers must describe the data (metadata).

EDMS-IML includes data produced by researchers from the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO). This database is managed by the Maurice-Lamontagne Institute (DFO).

EDMS-Ismer/QO includes data produced by researchers from the Institut des sciences de la mer (ISMER) and Québec-Océan. It is managed by ISMER and Québec-Océan.

SLGO is a portal for the dissemination and use of data on the St. Lawrence system, from the Great Lakes to the Gulf. The information can come from government agencies, universities and other partners involved in the community. Users can question SGDE-IML et SGDE-Ismer/QO databases both or separately. SLGO offers applications for data visualization using a geospatial search tool, data management tools and modeling products.

 TreeBASE
TreeBASE is a repository of phylogenetic information, specifically user-submitted phylogenetic trees and the data used to generate them. TreeBASE accepts all types of phylogenetic data (e.g., trees of species, trees of populations, trees of genes) representing all biotic taxa. Data in TreeBASE are exposed to the public if they are used in a publication that is in press or published in a peer-reviewed scientific journal, book, conference proceedings, or thesis. Data used in publications that are in preparation or in review can be submitted to TreeBASE, but are only available to the authors, publication editors, or reviewers using a special access code. TreeBASE is produced and governed by The Phyloinformatics Research Foundation, Inc.
 WORLD OCEAN DATABASE (WOD)
The National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) maintains and updates WOD with environmental data acquired from domestic and foreign activities. The center produces computer applications from these data which help monitor global environmental changes. These data include physical, biological and chemical measurements derived from in situ oceanographic observations, satellite remote sensing of the oceans, and ocean model simulations.

GESTION DES DONNÉES – DÉPÔTS DE DONNÉES

DÉPÔTS DE DONNÉES PERTINENTS POUR LES MEMBRES DE QUÉBEC-OCÉAN


 BCO-DMO
Le Biological and Chemical Oceanography Data Management Office (BCO-DMO) est une plateforme où des données d’origine marine peuvent être facilement diffusées, protégées et stockées à court ou moyen terme. Cette base de données peut inclure des mesures et des résultats biologiques, chimiques, biochimiques et physiques, ainsi que leurs métadonnées. Le stockage des données est multiple, ce qui assure la sécurité de l’archivage.
 BIOCHEM
BioChem a été développé et est maintenu par Pêches et Océans pour archiver les données biologiques et chimiques qui ont été produites par des projets de recherche ou qui ont été récoltées dans les zones d’intérêt canadien. Les données de BioChem sont divisées en deux ensembles : d’une part les données discrètes qui sont issues habituellement des échantillonnages par bouteille d’eau (par exemple, les sels nutritifs, l’oxygène dissous et la chlorophylle); d’autre part, les données de plancton qui proviennent habituellement des traits de filet (par exemple, les décomptes d’espèces et les mesures de biomasse). En plus de fournir des données pour la recherche sur le climat, les données archivées peuvent être utilisées aussi, par exemple, pour améliorer la compréhension de la variabilité des écosystèmes et appuyer les recherches sur les pêches.
 DRYAD
Dryad est un dépôt de données qui regroupe les données apparaissant dans les publications scientifiques et médicales. Ce référentiel à usage général favorise la quête, l’utilisation et la citation de données très diversifiées (texte, feuilles de calcul, vidéos, photographies, codes). La mission scientifique, éducative et caritative de Dryad est de promouvoir des données publiées dans la littérature scientifique pour leur utilisation en recherche et en éducation.
 GENBANK
GenBank est une base de données libre d’accès qui répertorie toutes les séquences de nucléotides et leurs traductions en protéines disponibles publiquement. Cette base de données est produite et maintenue par le National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), sous la responsabilité du International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration (INSDC). La base de données est conçue pour fournir et encourager l’accès de la communauté scientifique aux informations les plus complètes et les plus à jour sur les séquences d’ADN. Par conséquent, NCBI ne restreint pas l’utilisation ou la distribution des données de GenBank. Cependant, certains auteurs peuvent demander des brevets, des copyrights ou d’autres droits de propriété intellectuelle pour tout ou partie des données qu’ils ont soumises.
 ICES MARINE DATA
ICES (CIEM en français – Conseil International pour l’Exploration de la Mer) est une organisation intergouvernementale qui a pour objectif principal d’accroître les connaissances scientifiques sur l’environnement marin et ses ressources vivantes pour conseiller les autorités compétentes. Le centre de données ICES gère un grand nombre d’ensembles de données sur l’environnement marin, couvrant l’Atlantique du Nord-Est, la mer Baltique, la mer du Groenland et la mer de Norvège. Les collections de données sont organisées par portails thématiques ou par accès global. Les portails thématiques sont consacrés aux données océanographiques, aux communautés biologiques et aux contaminants, aux monitorages de chalutage, aux données sur les œufs et larves; aux données historiques de prédation par les poissons (contenus stomacaux) et de plancton.
 OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR n’est pas une base de données, mais un annuaire reconnu de dépôts universitaires libres d’accès. Cet annuaire liste gratuitement les dépôts et permet de les sélectionner selon différents critères. Les données conservées dans les dépôts concernent toute une variété de produits universitaires, mais le plus souvent ce sont des publications, des thèses ou des brevets.
 PANGEA
Le système d’information PANGEA est opéré comme une bibliothèque libre d’accès dédiée à l’archivage, la publication, et la diffusion de données géoréférencées provenant des recherches sur la planète Terre. Le système garantit l’accès à long terme des données grâce à l’implication de plusieurs succursales. La plupart des données sont libres d’accès et peuvent être utilisées sous la licence qui accompagne leur description. Quelques ensembles de données protégées par mot de passe sont sous moratoire parce que les projets qui les produisent sont en cours. La description des ensembles de données est toujours visible et inclut l’auteur principal qui peut être joint pour demande d’accès. Les ensembles de données peuvent être identifiés, partagés, publiés et cités en utilisant un DOI. Les citations sont accessibles via le portail de la Bibliothèque nationale allemande de Science et de Technologie (GetInfo).
 POLAR DATA CATALOGUE
Le Polar Data Catalogue est une base de données de métadonnées qui décrivent, indexent et procurent l’accès à des ensembles de données générées par des recherches dans l’Arctique et l’Antarctique. Les données enregistrées sont en format international (FGDC) pour permettre des échanges entre bases de données. Elles couvrent un grand nombre de disciplines, des sciences naturelles à la politique, de la santé aux sciences sociales. Le catalogue inclut un outil de recherche géospatial qui permet la recherche des données grâce à une interface de cartographie Web. Le catalogue combine aussi le géoréférencement avec des mots clés, des catégories et des dates.
 SYSTÈMES DE GESTION DE DONNÉES ENVIRONNEMENTALES (SGDE-IML et SGDE-ISMER/QO) et OBSERVATOIRE GLOBAL DU SAINT-LAURENT (OGSL)

Deux bases de données SGDE permettent aux utilisateurs d’archiver ou d'obtenir des données recueillies scientifiquement le long de l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Les données acceptées par les deux SGDE peuvent provenir de mesures physiques, biologiques ou chimiques, qu’elles soient océanographiques, atmosphériques ou terrestres. Les données océanographiques doivent être conformes aux normes Ocean Data Format (ODF). Les autres données peuvent suivre d’autres formats. Dans les deux cas, un ensemble d’en-têtes doivent décrire les données (métadonnées).

Le SGDE-IML contient les données générées par les chercheurs de Pêches et Océans. Il est géré par l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne (Pêches et Océans).

LE SDGE-Ismer/QO contient les données générées par les chercheurs de l’Institut des sciences de la mer (ISMER) et de Québec-Océan. Il est géré par l’ISMER et par Québec-Océan.

L’OGSL est un portail de diffusion et de valorisation des données concernant le système Saint-Laurent, des Grands Lacs au golfe. Les informations peuvent provenir des organismes gouvernementaux, des universités et d’autres partenaires impliqués dans le milieu. Les utilisateurs de l’OGSL peuvent interroger les bases de données SGDE-IML et SGDE-Ismer/QO ensemble ou séparément. L’OGSL propose des applications de visualisation de données utilisant un outil de recherche géospatiale, des outils de gestion de données et des produits de modélisation.

 TreeBASE
TreeBASE est un dépôt d’informations phylogénétiques, c’est-à-dire d’arbres phylogénétiques soumis par des chercheurs et des données utilisées pour les produire. TreeBASE accepte tous les types de données phylogénétiques (e.g. arbres d’espèces, arbres de populations, arbres de gènes) représentant tous les taxons biotiques. Les données de TreeBASE sont accessibles à tous si elles sont utilisées dans un article sous presse ou publiées dans un journal à comité de lecture, un livre, un compte-rendu de conférence ou une thèse. Les données utilisées dans une publication en préparation ou en révision peuvent être soumises à TreeBASE, mais elles ne sont accessibles qu’aux auteurs, aux éditeurs de la publication ou aux réviseurs via un code d’accès spécial. TreeBASE est produit et régi par The Phyloinformatics Research Foundation, Inc.
 WORLD OCEAN DATABASE (WOD)
Le National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) gère la WOD dont les données environnementales ont été acquises par des activités domestiques ou étrangères. Le centre produit des applications informatiques qui aident à surveiller les changements environnementaux. Les données archivées comprennent des mesures physiques, biologiques et chimiques, provenant de l’observation océanographique in situ, de la télédétection satellitaire des océans, plus des simulations provenant de modèles océaniques.